Archive | Caernarfon Award

RSS feed for this section
IOQ Awards 2013

IOQ Awards 2013

Another successful QuarryNZ Conference has been held 10-12 July in Dunedin. Recipients of the The Institute of Quarrying Awards are:   Winstone Aggregates Safety Award   RD Hassed Memorial Trophy   Rocktec Innovation Award   Niemac Trophy   Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy   IOQNZ Shield   Caernarfon Award Recipients of the The Aggregate & Quarry […]

History 0f a Quarry in a City

2013 Caernarfon Award

This year (2013) was New Zealand’s turn to host the IOQ International Presidents at the QuarryNZ Combined IOQNZ / AQA Conference in Dunedin. During the course of the event they chose a winner from four nominations for the Caernarfon Award – the best paper given at an Institute conference, seminar, meeting etc anywhere in the […]


Newsletter – March 2013 released

President’s Note * Proposed membership grade changes * QuarryNZ conference Dunedin 2013 –‘Rock our Global Foundation’ MITO [ExITO] Website Regulations And Codes Of Practice B R Webster Family Education Scholarship Metso’s Lokotrack ST2.4 Mobile Screen is now available in New Zealand Southern Cross Engineering And Rocktec Join Forces IOQNZ – Caernarfon Award Winner 2012 Update […]


Previous Winners of Caernarfon Award

2013 Tony Hunter (New Zealand) 2012 Murray Discombe (New Zealand) 2011 Glenn Kiernan (New Zealand) 2010 2009 Darcy Maddern, Greg Slaughter (New Zealand) 2008 C Pretorius (Southern Africa) 2007 G. Chan, D. Pallot, D. Hogan (Hong Kong) 2006 G.W. Bolsover 2005 Gordon Laing, Alan Happy, Arsini Hanna, Michael Harris, Christina Renhart (New Zealand) 2004 Brian […]

NZ secures 2012 Caernarfon Award

NZ secures 2012 Caernarfon Award

When Murray Discombe received a call today from IOQNZ President, Gavin Hartley, (attending the Australian Annual Conference in Melbourne) he thought that Gavin needed information. Wrong ! It was the best news he had ever had – a call to advise him that the paper he presented at the NZ Annual Conference had now been […]

Glenn Kiernan
Winner Caernarfon Award 2011

2011 Caernarfon Award heads to IOQNZ

Inline Drilling Ltd drill small and large diameter blast holes for Mines & Quarries nationwide. But now they have something else to crow about. On 25/11/2011, at the recent Institute of Quarrying International President’s Meeting held in Hong Kong, National Manager, Glenn Kiernan was awarded the coveted Caernarfon Award for best paper given at an […]

2009 Caernarfon Award

2009 Caernarfon Award

Earlier this year we reported that each year the IOQ International Presidents select the best paper given at an Institute conference, seminar, meeting etc anywhere in the world which is adjudged to have contributed the most to the advancement of some aspect of the industry – either technical, environmental, strategic etc. McDonalds Lime, Oparure Quarry, […]

Winners of Caernarfon Award 2005

Winners of Caernarfon Award 2005

Gordon Laing Quarry Manager, Three Kings Quarry Alan Happy, Resource and Environmental Manager Arsini Hanna Northern Region Environmental Co-ordinator Michael Harris, Engineering Geologist Christina Renhart, Project leader, Projects All are employees of Winstone Aggregates and have a common passion – for environmental excellence. Their paper “Three Kings Quarry – Excellence in Environmental Management” shows results […]

2004 – Caernarfon Award

Brian Bouzaid‘s paper presented at the IOQNZ 2004 Conference in Wairakei, was later awarded the Caernarfon Award. The award is an internationally recognised achievement. This is the first time since 1989 that a NZ paper has been successful. Well done. Download the Owhiro Bay Story Other Caernarfon Award recipients

Brian Bouzaid secures
2004 Lyn Jordan Memorial Award

2004 – Lyn Jordan Memorial Award

When Brian Bouzaid recieved the Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy from Immediate Past President, Russell Vickers, for best paper presented at either local branch meeting or at Conference, he was pretty pleased, then lost for words. Brian’s paper, co-authored by Boffa Miskell was later awarded the Caernarfon Award, the internationally recognised award for excellence in a […]