Archive | Branch Awards

RSS feed for this section

IOQ Northland Awards 12/8/17

THE COMMITTEE WANT TO SEE YOU Tickets are available Support the north and the industry The Northland IOQ have a great night lined up for you with a couple of different comedians. The committee works very hard getting this Awards Night organised every year for our Northland Quarry people. $45.00 per ticket will give you […]


Jim Macdonald Memorial Lecture Tour

The Jim Macdonald Memorial Lecture Tour has been arranged by the IOQNZ to various branches during May June 2017: May 22 Northland (Whangarei) May 23 Auckland May 24 Waikato / Bay of Plenty (Matamata) May 25 Central Districts (Palmerston North) May 29 Canterbury (Nelson) May 31 Canterbury (Christchurch) Jun 01 Otago / Southland (Dunedin) Guest […]

Mike Haynes (McCallum Bros) received Trimble "Best employee for 2016" from Bruce Warner.

Mentor and Best Employee Awarded at IOQ AK function

The IOQ Auckland branch Christmas function has been synonymous with the spirit of Christmas – in 2016 Starship Hospital was chosen as the recipient of our charity raffle. Howwver there were some new things to celebrate: Chis Edmonds has been with Winstones for 30 years and has a special manner to encourage his staff. Other […]

John Ashby with Viking Conveyor Paykel Shield

John Ashby wins Viking Conveyor Paykel Shield

The 2016 Christmas function was an occasion to remember. John Ashby was honoured for his “outstanding service to the IOQNZ (Auckland Branch). John has technical expertise in many fields – survey and geological mapping, hydraulic design, slope stability analysis an design, undergound excavation design, drill and blast engineering, risk analysis, and more. He has been […]

Shawn McLean, Robert and Julie Webster, and Andrew Dronjak

2014 – Webster Scholarships

Shawn McLean is completing a National Diploma in Business Level 5 through iSkills. The qualification is achieved through a coached workplace programme and the timeframe to complete the qualification is 12 months. Andrew Dronjak is completing an ATM NEBOSH International Diploma through E Learning UK. This diploma is a Health & Safety qualification which Andrew […]

Murray Harvey (left) receives the Paykel Shield from Mike Rawson of Blackwood / Paykel.

Paykel Shield 2013

Murray Harvey, of Applied Conveyor & Belting has not missed many IOQ Branch meetings, and has been a regular sponsor at the Annual IOQNZ / AQA Conferences for many years. His ongoing support of the local Auckland Branch made him an easy choice for the 2013 award, presented at the IOQ Christmas function.

Blackwood Shield – Auckland Branch Trophy

The Blackwood Shield (formerly known as the Paykel Shield) is awarded each year at the annual Christmas function, to a member for outstanding contribution to the Auckland Branch over the years . Past recipients: 2014 Tony Carpenter 2013 Murray Harvey 2012 Mike Henderson 2011 Chris Gray 2010 Gordon Laing 2009 Andrew Dronjak 2008 Bernie McDonald […]

Redbull Powder Company  team celebrations

Mike Henderson secures Blackwood Shield

The 2012 Auckland Branch’s Christmas function held on Nov 16th at Auckland City’s Rendezvous Hotel, attracted 96 attendees to its Dinner / Charity Raffle. A jolly good turnout with many taking the opportunity to bring their partners for a night out on the town. The Auckland Branch gratefully acknowledges the Porter Group as main sponsor, […]

NZ secures 2012 Caernarfon Award

NZ secures 2012 Caernarfon Award

When Murray Discombe received a call today from IOQNZ President, Gavin Hartley, (attending the Australian Annual Conference in Melbourne) he thought that Gavin needed information. Wrong ! It was the best news he had ever had – a call to advise him that the paper he presented at the NZ Annual Conference had now been […]