Archive | Branch Awards

RSS feed for this section
Gavin Hartley presents <strong>Murray Discombe</strong> with a Certificate for "Best paper at conference" and the Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy

2012 Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy

The 2012 award for “best paper” was awarded to Murray Discombe His paper entitled “Land Damage Assessment; Liquefaction and Lateral Spread” described the geotechnical reasons for the extensive damage to land and dwellings fromthe Canterbury earthquakes. Tonkin & Taylor are EQC’s engineers. They enlisted the support from numerous Consulting Engineers from New Zealandand and Australia […]

Chris Gray

Chris Gray awarded Blackwood Shield 2011

When Chris Gray, resigned from Winstone Aggrgeates to take on a new role in Tasmania as General Manager for a quarrying company just outside Hobart, it became clear that his tenure as IOQNZ Auckland Branch Chairman needed to be formally recognised. At the Auckland Christmas Charity Dinner held 18 Dec 2011, the Blackwoods/Paykel Shield was […]

Stu Marsden Trophy - Waikato / Bay of Plenty Award

Stu Marsden Trophy – Waikato / Bay of Plenty Award

The Stu Marsden Trophy was established in the name of Stu Marsden to recognise individual young achievers in the Extractive Industry within the Waikato / Bay of Plenty IOQ Branch. Applications are considered for individuals 35 years and under. The winner receives one year’s free membership to the IOQ and keeps the award for one […]

2010 Blackwood Shield awarded to Gordon Laing

At the Institute of Quarrying (Auckland Branch) Christmas Dinner sponsored by Porter Hire , one of the highlights was the announcement of the 2010 receipient – for Outstanding Contribution to the Institute of Quarrying over the years quote. Now General Manager for Ihumatao Quarry, Gordon Laing spent approximately half of his working life in the […]

Aaron Thwaites wins Stu Marsden Award

Aaron Thwaites wins Stu Marsden Award

The 2008 WAIKATO / BAY OF PLENTY Christmas function held at the Waikato Stadium was an absolute ripper of a night. Tim Armstrong and his band belted out some sensational tunes all night and kept everybody busy on the dance floor especially myself. Even Elvis put in an appearance which stirred the ladies into a […]

Puni Sand Plant

2005 Paykel Shield presented to Murray Swain

Back in 1990 the Auckland Branch IOQ committee at that time considered that an award should be made available to recognize those who had made an Outstanding Contribution to the Auckland Group during the years. The Award was sponsored by Paykel Engineering and the first recipient was Keith Niederer. On November 25th 2005, at the […]

Murray Swain

Mr Sandman wins Paykel Shield

On November 25th 2005, at the Auckland Branch Annual Christmas function, held at the Waipuna Lodge and sponsored by Komatsu, Orica and Applied Conveyor and Belting it was time again to honour a man who was a part of the committee that year when the idea for the Paykel shield was first mooted – 1990. […]

Wally Yelavich & Ivan Swain


The 2004 Auckland Branch Christmas function was hosted by Komatsu, Ingersoll Rand, Groenenveld, and Deals on Wheels. Another great success One of New Zealand’s quarrying legends, aka “Mr Quarry” gave a talk on his experiences in the industry not to mention his experience in his free time. Thank you Keith. Very interesting and very funny. […]

Ian Wedding
Winner of 2004 Paykel Shield


The Komatsu Christmas Function 2003 was held again at the Ellerslie Convention Centre on 5 Dec 2003. Many thanks to our fantastic hosts Komatsu, in conjunction with Groeneveld and Ingersoll Rand. Approx 70 people attended. One of the highlights of the evening was the presentation of the Paykel Engineering Shield, awarded for Outstanding Contribution to […]