Archive | RD Hassed Memorial Trophy

RSS feed for this section
Peter Morgan with Murray Smith

2018 – RD Hassed Memorial Trophy

There were several contenders for the RD Hassed Memorial Trophy this year, but it was a clear majority in favour of Northland Branch Chairman, Murray Smith. He has shown leadership and has continually strived to encourage membership in the region – it was clear that his personal touch has now been rewarded.

Matt Webster with RD  Hassed Memorial Trophy

2017 – RD Hassed Memorial trophy

The 2017 RD Hassed Memorial Trophy was awarded to Matt Webster of Websters hydrated Lime Co Ltd. Matt has reinvigorated the Central Districts region, as both Branch Chairman and member of Executive Council IOQNZ. He has increased member numbers and meetings throughout this widespread catchment. He has helped guide members through new legislation. While on […]

IOQNZ Newsletter
Sept 2016

IOQNZ Sep 2016 Newsletter

Latest Newsletter available Presidents Report Branch reports 2016 IOQ NZ Award Winners AQA Mimico Excellence Awards Webster Education Scholarship IOQ NZ Training Facilitator CPD Training Overview IOQ NZ Webinars BOE Update IQ Photo Competition MITO Update MinEx Update IOQ NZ Youth Programme Pocket Guide Mining in Water Advertisements New Members


2015 RD Hassed Memorial Trophy

This year Alan McDonald was the Chairman of the Waikato/Bay of Plenty IOQ branch. He has come along way (in personal development) since he took on this role two years ago. As the national conference is in Waikato this year, Alan has grasped the role of chairman of the local branch, as well as the […]

RD Hassed Memorial Trophy

RD Hassed Trophy – Previous recipients

Previous recipients of the RD Hassed Memorial Trophy are: 1994 Bryan Bartley 1995 Rodney Cotton 1996 Tom Linnell 1997 Andrew Robertson 1998 Brian Bouzaid 1999 Wally Yelavich 2000 Peter Robinson 2001 Russell Vickers 2002 Churchie Walls 2003 Rob Kennington 2004 Trevor Tamblyn 2005 George Kelcher 2006 Andy Loader 2007 Murray Discombe 2008 Murray Francis 2009 […]


Whangarei Conference 2014

One of the great conferences. Warm friendly folk. Excited to show off their spot in the north. Sheryl Mai, Mayor of Whangarei, welcomed the delegates and partners. The GoughCAT dinner was served one table at a time. Great food brought out by 20 or so young dedicated conscientious waiters and waitresses. A dinner assisted by […]

IOQ Awards 2013

IOQ Awards 2013

Another successful QuarryNZ Conference has been held 10-12 July in Dunedin. Recipients of the The Institute of Quarrying Awards are:   Winstone Aggregates Safety Award   RD Hassed Memorial Trophy   Rocktec Innovation Award   Niemac Trophy   Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy   IOQNZ Shield   Caernarfon Award Recipients of the The Aggregate & Quarry […]

ANDREW DRONJAK is all smiles as he holds the RD Hassed Memorial Trophy

2013 RD Hassed Memorial Trophy

Andrew Dronjak has held several key roles on the Auckland Branch – Secretary, Treasurer, and Chairman. He has been there to assist with organising the Annual Health & Safety Review meeting for most years, and is often there to greet members as they arrive at the branch meetings. Andrew also served as the first student […]

Gavin Hartley (R) presents <strong>Tony Smith</strong> with the RD Hassed Memorial Trophy and a certificate

2012 – RD Hassed Memorial Trophy

Tony Smith was the recipient of the RD Hassed Memorial trophy. He had an ongoing commitment to ensure that the GoughCAT Dinner, which forms an integral part of the combined annual conference of the AQA / IOQ, was planned to perfection. Over the past few years he has been to many in our industry a […]