Archive | Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy

RSS feed for this section
Andy Loader receives the Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy from Les Ward, and  MC Steve Davis

2017 – Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy

Andy Loader‘s paper presented at the QuarryNZ 2017 conference titled “QUARRYING IN THE AUCKLAND REGION – Past Present and Future” required a considerable amount of research, particularly to obtain copies of the many photos from library archival records. He discussed the lengths that some former quarry operators went to leave and develop an area that […]

IOQNZ Newsletter
Sept 2016

IOQNZ Sep 2016 Newsletter

Latest Newsletter available Presidents Report Branch reports 2016 IOQ NZ Award Winners AQA Mimico Excellence Awards Webster Education Scholarship IOQ NZ Training Facilitator CPD Training Overview IOQ NZ Webinars BOE Update IQ Photo Competition MITO Update MinEx Update IOQ NZ Youth Programme Pocket Guide Mining in Water Advertisements New Members


2015 Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy

Rodney Pilbrow, Pilbrow Survey, receives the Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy from Gordon Laing for “best technical paper”. His presentation was made at the 2015 Conference and demonstrated how use of fixed wing plane and drones fitted with cameras have revolutionised quarry survey work. Congratulations to Jon McAllister – CMS Ltd, and to Cobus Van Vuuren […]


Previous Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy Winners

The Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy was first awarded in 1984 for “Best technical paper presented at a branch meeting or at the Institute’s Annual Conference”. Previous winners are: Keith Niederer George Cunningham Bruce Webster Jim Hunter David Niven Gib Stuart Tom Linnell ? Kevin Branch Bruce Hayhow Rob Storrie Chris Pilmer Steve Alford Peter Groube […]

George Kelcher (left) receives the Lyn Jordan Memorial Award for his paper presented to the Otago/Southland Branch meeting

2014 – Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy

Removal of Coal particles from sand. How can that be achieved? George Kelcher’s paper describes a clever piece of processing plant designed in house by Road Metals to provide the very best raw-feed product for manufacture of vibrabloc. IOQNZ also submitted his paper for consideration by the IOQ International Presidents. While it did not win […]


Whangarei Conference 2014

One of the great conferences. Warm friendly folk. Excited to show off their spot in the north. Sheryl Mai, Mayor of Whangarei, welcomed the delegates and partners. The GoughCAT dinner was served one table at a time. Great food brought out by 20 or so young dedicated conscientious waiters and waitresses. A dinner assisted by […]

IOQ Awards 2013

IOQ Awards 2013

Another successful QuarryNZ Conference has been held 10-12 July in Dunedin. Recipients of the The Institute of Quarrying Awards are:   Winstone Aggregates Safety Award   RD Hassed Memorial Trophy   Rocktec Innovation Award   Niemac Trophy   Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy   IOQNZ Shield   Caernarfon Award Recipients of the The Aggregate & Quarry […]

Winners of the 2013 Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy
Daniel leemeyer, Jason Tavioni, & Nick Bastow

2013 Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy

RedBull Powder Company young engineers – Daniel Leemeyer, Nick Bastow, and Jason Tavioni presented a paper at the Auckland Branch Technical meeting May 7th 2013. Their paper entitled Construction Blasting – The Waterview Connection Project demonstrated the magnitude of one of New Zealand’s largest roading construction projects – the Waterview tunnel project, and the many […]

Gavin Hartley presents <strong>Murray Discombe</strong> with a Certificate for "Best paper at conference" and the Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy

2012 Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy

The 2012 award for “best paper” was awarded to Murray Discombe His paper entitled “Land Damage Assessment; Liquefaction and Lateral Spread” described the geotechnical reasons for the extensive damage to land and dwellings fromthe Canterbury earthquakes. Tonkin & Taylor are EQC’s engineers. They enlisted the support from numerous Consulting Engineers from New Zealandand and Australia […]