Glenn Kiernan
Winner Caernarfon Award 2011

Inline Drilling Ltd drill small and large diameter blast holes for Mines & Quarries nationwide.

But now they have something else to crow about. On 25/11/2011, at the recent Institute of Quarrying International President’s Meeting held in Hong Kong, National Manager, Glenn Kiernan was awarded the coveted Caernarfon Award for best paper given at an Institute conference, seminar, meeting etc anywhere in the world which is adjudged to have contributed the most to the advancement of some aspect of the industry – either technical, environmental, strategic etc..

Glenn’s paper, ELECTRONIC DETONATORS VS NON ELECTRONIC DETONATORS AND NEW BLAST-HOLE LOADING TECHNIQUES – YOU DECIDE, also won the Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy at the July 2011 NZ Annual Conference for best paper

Previous NZ recipients of the award are:

  • 2009. Darcy Maddern & Greg Slaughter, Oparere Quarry
  • 2005. Gordon Laing, Alan Happy, Arsini Hanna, Michael Harris, Chris Renhart, Winstone 3 Kings Quarry, Auckland
  • 2004. Brian Bouzaid, Kiwi Point Quarry, Wellington City Council
  • 1989. Bryan Bartley, Auckland