Winstone Aggregates Safety Award

The Winstone Aggregates Health and Safety Award is awarded to the quarry operation judged to have implemented an improvement or idea resulting in a shift change in the engagement or participation of the workers on site, as well as improving the site’s health or safety risks.

Sponsored by Winstone Aggregates, this trophy recognises that there has been a shift in mindset at the operation when it comes to health and safety and is a very prestigious award.


Nominations for this award can be made by any branch of the IOQNZ or any quarry operation and must be supported in detail on the reasons for the nomination.

All nominations need to include

  • Applicant’s name and company
  • Site location and address
  • Manager’s name
  • Contact details including email

Judging will be influenced by achievements against the following criteria

  • Improvement in employee participation or engagement, and
  • The implementation of a health or safety initiative, and
  • How this initiative improved the risk assessment, implementation of controls and effectiveness of the controls for this risk.

It is intended that the award be displayed in a prominent place at the winner’s premises as a continuing reminder of the need to maintain high standards of safety within the Quarry Industry.

The trophy remains the property of the Institute of Quarrying NZ (Inc) and is held by the current recipient for the twelve months following its presentation which is made at the Institute’s NZ annual conference normally held in July each year.

Nomination Form

Past Winners

2023 Stevenson Drury Quarry

2022 Waiotahi Contractors, Blue Rock Quarry

2021 Blackhead Quarries, Walton Park Sand

2020 No conference

2019 Fulton Hogan, Pound Road Quarry

2018 Fulton Hogan, Miners Road

2017 GBC Winstone, Whitehall Quarry

2016Road Metals, Rolleston Quarry

2015 Webster’s Hydrated Lime, Hastings

2014 Dickson’s, Glenbervie Quarry

2013 Higgins Aggregates, Baldwin Quarry

2012 HG Leach, Tahuna Quarry

2011 Holcim, Hastings Quarry

2010 Holcim, Kiwi Point Quarry 

2009 Stevensons, Drury Quarry

2008 McDonalds Lime, Oparere Quarry

2007 Fulton Hogan, Parkburn Quarry

2006 Oamaru Shingle, Hilderthorpe Quarry

2005 Winstone, Otaika Quarry

2004 HG Leach, Tirohia Quarry

2003 Stevensons, Drury Quarry

2002 Stevensons, Huntly Quarry

2001 Winstone, Flat Top

2000 Winstone, Otaika Quarry

1999 HG Leach, Tirohia Quarry

1998 Fulton Hogan, Pound Road, Christchurch

1997 Stevensons, Drury Quarry

1996 Blackhead Quarry

1995 Winstone, Motumaoho

1994 Winstone, Otaika Quarry

1993 McDonalds Lime, Otorohanga

1992 Bell Block Quarry, New Plymouth 

Winstone Aggregates Safety Award

The trophy is a large mounted crystal awarded to the quarry operation with the best safety regimen.


Vickers Quarries
Vickers Quarries

Join The IOQ

Contact us for more