Turnco Niemac JCI Astec Achievement Award

The Turnco Niemac JCI Astec Achievement Award  is made to recognise an achievement by an IOQ NZ (Inc.) member individually or as part of a team.

The intent is to reward a person or team directly responsible for plant operation, or in plant maintenance, or in problem-solving in the industry.

The Award offers opportunity to reward an achiever or team, who may not necessarily be conspicuous within the industry.


  1. The nominee must currently belong to the Institute of Quarrying NZ (Inc.).
  2. Nominations can be made by any individual or company from within the extractive industry.
  3. Nominations should be sent to the National Secretary by mail or email (PDF preferred) before 31 May each year.
  4. Nominations should include summary information relating to the nominee or team, their employment history(s), current work and responsibilities, and a detailed account of the particular outstanding achievement(s) considered to warrant recognition.
  5. The detailed account of achievement should include technical and/or financial information, pictures as appropriate which illustrate the hurdles that had to be overcome to support the nominee or team’s achievement(s). It should also make clear what resources and support were (or were not) available to help the nominee or team to get the results detailed.
  6. The Selection Panel will consist of the IOQ NZ (Inc.) President (or nominee), another IOQ NZ (Inc.) Executive Committee member, and a Representative of Turnco Engineering.
  7. An award will be made each year if the nominations received are of a suitable standard and in the prescribed format.
  8. The presentation of the award will where possible be made at the Institute of Quarrying (Inc.) New Zealand Annual Conference (QuarryNZ).

Nomination Form

Past Winners

2023 Nathan Gibbons-Stevenson

2020 No conference

2019 Graeme Allan – Road Metals

Previously known as the Niemac Award

2016 Don Parker – Road Metals

2015 Barney Fuller – Walton Park Sand

2014 Joanne Dickson – Dickson’s Glenbervie Quarry

2013 Craig Payne – J Swap

2012 Peter Shapiro – Redbull Powder Company

2010 Tim Kennedy – Fulton Hogan

2009 Hans Hollis – Holcim

2008 Doug Upston – Road Metals

2007 Jack Parker – Road Metals

2006 Cobus van Vuuren – Higgins

2005 Lex Robb – Balfour Lime

2004 Roddy Maxwell – Fulton Hogan

2003 George Kelcher – Road Metals

Previously known as the Niederer Machinery (1989) Award

2002 Graeme Leach

2001 Brian Bouzaid

2000 Robert Webster

1999 Rodd Field

1998 Grant Amunsden

1996 Don Bellingham

1995 Peter Hamilton

1994 Mike Adams


Vickers Quarries
Vickers Quarries

Join The IOQ

Contact us for more