The Stu Marsden Trophy was established in the name of Stu Marsden to recognise individual young achievers in the Extractive Industry within the Waikato / Bay of Plenty IOQ Branch. Applications are considered for individuals 35 years and under.

The winner receives one year’s free membership to the IOQ and keeps the award for one year before returning it prior to the following year’s presentation. Individuals must attend the IOQ Christmas function to receive the Award.

The trophy is a model Caterpillar D1 Dozer with rope-lift blade.

Recipients of the trophy are:

  • 1998 Lance Davis
  • 1999 Allan McDonald
  • 2000 Craig Payne
  • 2001 Darcy Maddern
  • 2002 Shane Burrett
  • 2003 Peter Rix
  • 2004 Campbell Merrylees
  • 2005 Corrie Leach
  • 2006 Shannon Willison
  • 2007 Shawn McLean
  • 2008 Ryan Paterson
  • 2009 Aaron Thwaites
  • 2010 Kylie Calman