The 2013 IOQ Annual General Meeting opened at 2.00 pm.

1. Welcome:

President Gavin Hartley welcomed all attendees to this year's AGM.

2. Present:

Gavin Hartley [Chair], Vice President Gordon Laing, plus 49 members, visitors etc [list attached].

In Attendance: Christine Dodds taking Minutes.

3. Apologies:

Brian Bouzaid, Andrew Robertson, Andrew Dronjak and Terry O'Reilly.

4. Condolences:

Lady Isaac, Murray Cohen and John Fulton.

5. Minutes of Previous AGM:

Minutes of 44th AGM held in Wellington on 11th July 2012 were in the Annual Report.

6. Matters Arising:

There were no matters arising.

7. President's Report:

Gavin Hartley read his Annual Report which covered Board activities over the past year. He stated that each year we need to measure ourselves and in doing this we look at our mission statement. IOQ liaise with the AQA on a number of issues, have an excellent website and a quarterly newsletter. IOQ Executive also maintain a presence on other Boards, have initiated CPD, and attend branch meetings where possible. Membership currently is 216 financial members however last year it was 373 because some members who were not financial were included; lower financial membership numbers as some companies no longer pay for their staff. MITO are now the industry training organisation and they are a leader in terms of qualification completions which has to be good for training people in our industry. The challenge for the future is to keep existing membership and increase new membership plus include invited guests to the IOQ Board.

Gavin Hartley thanked his employer Blackhead Quarries for their support in his role.

• R King/G Cunningham: Moved that the President's Report be accepted... Carried.

8. Financial Accounts 2012:

The audited Financial Accounts for the year ended 31 December 2012 were presented. Expenses were up and income was down so this represented a loss for the year. However this loss was planned for with a copy of "Profiles in Stone" history book given to every member, and changing the IOQNZ Rules was a bigger expense than intended. These two expenses necessitated splitting a term deposit.

Also included in the Annual Report were the audited Conference Accounts which showed a net profit of \$25,000 which was split between the partners.

9. Secretary/Treasurer and Branch Reports:

These reports were taken as read.

10. CPD:

Gordon Laing gave an overview of CPD which has been trialled for the past year. The presentation gave examples of how the online system and the audit process would work.

11. Website:

Murray Discombe gave an overview of navigating the website and how to get into the "members only" section and how to use the CPD section to record professional development. The report finished with web statistics that showed how often the different pages are accessed.

Steve Ellis questioned if MBIE; would recognise this system and what formal audit training the auditors have. The system is live immediately to allow members to record the CPD but not for auditing. Currently this system follows the UK outline. Another query was the lack of direction for Health and Safety which is very important to this industry.

George Kelcher commended the IOQ on getting the CPD up and running.

12. Election of Officers to Board:

Appointment of Council -

- President Gordon Laing Proposed by Gavin Hartley, seconded Murray Discombe.
- Vice President Les Ward Proposed by Warwick Leach, seconded Peter Morgan.
- Immediate Past President Gavin Hartley

Representative from the North Island [2 year term]:

• Murray Discombe - Proposed by Gordon Laing, seconded Gavin Hartley

Representative from the South Island [2 year term]:

• Peter Morgan - Proposed by Gavin Hartley, seconded Les Ward.

Representative from the floor [1 year term]:

• Chris Sinclair - Propose by Warwick Leach, seconded by Gordon Laing.

Representative from floor [2 year term]:

- Matt Webster Proposed by Trevor Tamblyn, seconded Steve Ellis.
- Dean Torstonson Proposed by Andy Loader, seconded Jason Hinton.

Both nominees spoke to those present before a vote was taken. After votes were counted Dean was congratulated on being elected to this position. His skills and passion will be appreciated. The votes were then destroyed.

13. General Business:

Murray Smith, Chairman for the Local Conference Committee (Whangarei) advised that he has a motivated team to organise the 2014 conference. He was elected Chairman for the Northland Branch last year and is not sure what he should be doing in terms of organising for the conference at local level. He requested some support both in terms of who or what the Institute does and processes and procedures to help new members. This is on the website.

Trevor Tamblyn's email was tabled regarding sponsorship from companies. The IOQ acknowledged his comment and now that we have lost some sponsors such as Goughs and Komatsu, personal contact is required and Gavin will personally follow up; thank you.

Thank you to Martin Hammond and his team for organising this year's conference.

There being no further business the 2013 Annual General Meeting closed at 3.10 pm.

President:	
Vice President:	
Date:	

Signed:

List of Attendees:

- 1. Bruce Taylor, Fulton Hogan
- 2. George Kelcher, Road Metals
- 3. Steve Ellis, Stevensons
- 4. Richard Hardwick, Road Metals
- 5. Nathan Gibbons, Stevensons
- 6. Murray Discombe, Fraser Thomas
- 7. Graham Leach, H G Leach & Co
- 8. Warwick Leach, H G Leach & Co
- 9. Eric Souchon, H G Leach & Co
- 10. George Cunningham, Porchester Agencies
- 11. Ron King, Mining and Industry Services
- 12. Tim Jackson, Rorisons, RMD Ltd
- 13. Dean Torstonson, Rorisons, RMD Ltd
- 14. Pierre Stockman, Rorisons, RMD Ltd
- 15. Bernie McDonald, Redbull/Top Rock
- 16. Grant Amundsen, J Swap
- 17. Mike James, Waiotahi Contractors
- 18. Rick Johnson, Aquaclear/Stevensons Group
- 19. Les Ward, Rocktec
- 20. Chris Sinclair, Holcim
- 21. Murray Smith, Smiths Contracting
- 22. Johnny Dickson, Dicksons Quarries
- 23. Jason Hinton, Rodney Aggregates
- 24. Selwyn Dodd, Winstone Aggregates
- 25. Shaun Henderson, Winstone Aggregates
- 26. Rob Smith, Winstone Aggregates
- 27. Andrew Mahan, Isaac Construction
- 28. Jason Wenham, Waiotahi Contractors
- 29. Andy Loader, First Rock Consultancy
- 30. Tony Carpenter, Winstone Aggregates
- 31. Jayden Ellis, Stevensons
- 32. Wayne Robbins, Transmission House
- 33. Todd Robbins, Transmission House
- 34. Nick Webster, Websters Lime
- 35. Robert Webster, Websters Lime
- 36. Matt Webster, Websters Lime
- 37. Trevor Tamblyn, Retired Member
- 38. Robin Holking, Australian visitor
- 39. Lex Robb, Retired Member
- 40. Russell Vickers, Vickers Quarries

- 41. Mike Higgins, Isaac Construction
- 42. Tony Hunter, Blackhead Quarries
- 43. David O'Kane, MITO
- 44. Gordon Skeggs, Southern Aggregates
- 45. Phill Boult, Fleet Review Services
- 46. Graham McClymont, Amisfield Quarry
- 47. Mark Campbell, Ravensdown
- 48. Geoff Callis, Ravensdown
- 49. Craig Hendry, Ravensdown

This document was created with Win2PDF available at http://www.win2pdf.com. The unregistered version of Win2PDF is for evaluation or non-commercial use only. This page will not be added after purchasing Win2PDF.