

The 2014 IOQ Annual General Meeting opened at 2.05 pm.

1. Welcome:

President Gordon Laing welcomed all attendees to this year's AGM.

2. Present:

Gordon Laing [Chair], Vice President Les Ward, plus 45 attendees etc [list attached] and Petrina Torstonson taking Minutes.

3. Apologies:

Lee Brightwell, Chris Sinclair, Ron J King, Andrew Mahan, Darcy Maddern, Graeme McClymont, Brian McNaulty, Matthew Webster

4. Condolences:

Lubo Joseph Yelavich (known as Wally). Les Ward also acknowledged Darcy Maddern's partner, Gillian and Harry Toa's wife, Karen. A moment of silence was held for those that had passed away in the past 12 months.

5. Minutes of Previous AGM:

Minutes of 45th AGM held in Dunedin on 10th July 2013 were in the Annual Report.

6. Matters Arising:

There were no matters arising.

7. President's Report:

The President's report was printed in the Annual Report and has been taken as read. Gordon Laing read out the highlights.

8. Financial Accounts 2013:

The draft Financial Accounts for the year ended 31 December 2013 were presented in the Annual report.

Gordon Laing read out the Auditors report from Ashton Wheelans (which was received after the Annual Report was printed).

• Andy Loader/Gavin Hartley: Moved that the IOQ Audited 2013 Financial Accounts be adopted...............Carried.

The draft QuarryNZ accounts were also presented in the Annual report. These accounts were awaiting an Auditor's report and therefore, could not be adopted at the AGM.

9. Secretary/Treasurer Report:

This report was taken as read. The Secretary commented on highlights.

10. Continuing Professional Development:

Gordon Laing confirmed that the uptake for CPD online has been slow. Gordon encouraged everybody to please get on board as there will be a time when it will be compulsory to do so.

11. Increase in Membership Fees

Gordon Laing advised there is a proposal to increase membership fees for 2015 by approximately 2.5%. It was acknowledged that there had been no increase made to membership fees last year.

Proposed fees as follows:

Fee Structure

	2014	2015
Student	\$56.25	\$58.00
* Associate	\$161.51	\$166.00
* Member	\$143.15	\$147.00
* Fellow	\$161.51	\$166.00
Honorary Fellow	no fee	no fee
Retired (no voting rights)	\$56.25	\$58.00
* Joining fee	\$36.00	\$38.00

A Loader/B Bouzaid: Moved to increase membership fees for the 2015 Financial Year as per schedule above.

12. Approval of the New Technical Member Grade as a corporate member.

Gordon Laing outlined the proposed new Technical Member Grade at the AGM. The Technical Members will be able to use the designatory letters - TMIQ.

G Laing/M Discombe: Moved that the Technical Member grade of the Institute of Quarrying be accepted into the corporate grade of membership for the Institute of Quarrying NZ. There were no objections and the motion was passed unanimously.

13. Website report:

Murray Discombe provided an overview of some aspects of the website and was encouraged that members are continuing to use the website for a source of information particularly around July of each year with up and coming conferences, and key items of interest for the industry.

14. Branch reports:

These reports were taken as read.

15. QuarryNZ Conference 2015 Hamilton

A promotional video for the Hamilton Conference will be presented on the Awards night (Friday).

16. Election of Officers to Board:

Tony Carpenter advised that he would not be standing this year. The following members have been elected to the Board:

Representative from the North Island [2 year term]:

Chris Sinclair - Proposed by Peter Morgan, seconded Les Ward

Representative from the South Island [2 year term]:

Andrew Mahan - Proposed by Gordon Laing, seconded Gavin Hartley

Representative from floor [2 year term]:

Selwyn Dodd – Proposed by: Tony Carpenter, seconded: Andy Loader

17. General Business:

2014 Membership Card

Tony Carpenter outlined a new benefit available to IOQ members. Membership cards will now be issued to all current financial members and will entitle members to discounts between 10-60% with various suppliers. A flier is available to all members providing details of the discounts. Members who have not paid will be entitled to their discount card once membership fees have been paid. These cards will be mailed out upon receipt of payment. The membership cards will be renewed each year and therefore, a new card will be issued when memberships are renewed in 2015. The number on the card is allocated permanently to each member year on year. Murray Discombe raised the question whether or not Honorary Fellows and retired members can receive the card. Confirmed yes they will.

Extractive Advisory Group

Tony Hunter advised that WorkSafe have set up an Extractive Advisory Group (EAG) of which he has been appointed to the group. The advisory group has been set up to provide advice to the WorkSafe Board on the effectiveness of the new regulations, specific aspects of the regime, health & safety aspects of the industry etc. The Extractive Advisory Group is a go between the WorkSafe board and the industry. A meeting of the EAG was held on 3-4 July – where they formed a constitution.

There was much discussion around ensuring that the COC's are not set too high otherwise staff might find it hard to achieve. Andy Loader confirmed that everybody will be part of a consultation process going forward. George Kelcher said it was very important that we need adequate time to be able to consult on these documents. George Cunningham encouraged older members of the IOQ to mentor new members.

There being no further business the 2014 Annual General Meeting closed at 2.50 pm.

Signed:	
President:	
Vice President:	
Date:	

List of Attendees:

- 1. Roger Mahan
- 2. Peter Morgan
- 3. Tony Carpenter
- 4. Ross Twidle
- 5. Balfour Dunn
- 6. Gordon Laing
- 7. Rob Beale
- 8. Murray Discombe
- 9. Wayne Scott (Australia)
- 10. John Stanton (Australia)
- 11. Selwyn Dodd
- 12. Johnny Dickson
- 13. Murray Smith
- 14. Brian Bouzaid
- 15. Robert Webster
- 16. Dean Torstonson
- 17. Mike James
- 18. Gavin Hartley
- 19. Phil Boult
- 20. John Quayle
- 21. Jayden Ellis
- 22. Jason Wenham
- 23. Andrea Cave
- 24. Martyn Knight
- 25. Trevor Tamblyn
- 26. Nick Webster
- 27. Brian Roche
- 28. Sandy Sime
- 29. Les McCracken
- 30. Bryce Taylor
- 31. George Cunningham
- 32. Cobus Van Vuuren
- 33. Janet Lane
- 34. Tony Hunter
- 35. Les Ward
- 36. James West
- 37. Chris Harvey

- 38. George Kelcher
- 39. Russell Vickers
- 40. Mike Higgins
- 41. Andrew Robertson
- 42. Andy Loader
- 43. Roger Parton
- 44. Murray Clements
- 45. Steve Ellis