Archive | July, 2015

Keith Niederer receives Honorary Fellowship from Gordon Laing

Keith Niederer – Honorary Fellow

The name Keith Niederer is synonymous with quarrying in New Zealand. Since we launched the book (at the 2012 Dunedin Conference ) Profiles in Stone regaling stories from NZ Quarrymen, which included a great one on some of Keith’s life, Keith has not been able to attend many local branch meetings or Conferences. Gordon Laing […]


2015 Niemac Award

Barney Fuller (centre) receives the Niemac Award from Graham Fergusson for his Barney is the Quarry Manager for Walton Park Sand, a division of Blackhead Quarries. Barney has been working in the quarry industry for over 40 years. He started working for Fulton Hogan on their mobile crushers in the early 70’s and has been […]


2015 IOQNZ Awards

This year there were two recipients for the IOQNZ Shield: Gavin Hartley receives the IOQNZ shield from Gavin Laing as he steps down from the IOQNZ Executive. Gavin was President from 2011 to 2013. He rated working with Neil Clayton and Louise Foord to produce the Profiles in Stone, Stories about NZ Quarrymen one of […]


2015 RD Hassed Memorial Trophy

This year Alan McDonald was the Chairman of the Waikato/Bay of Plenty IOQ branch. He has come along way (in personal development) since he took on this role two years ago. As the national conference is in Waikato this year, Alan has grasped the role of chairman of the local branch, as well as the […]


2015 Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy

Rodney Pilbrow, Pilbrow Survey, receives the Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy from Gordon Laing for “best technical paper”. His presentation was made at the 2015 Conference and demonstrated how use of fixed wing plane and drones fitted with cameras have revolutionised quarry survey work. Congratulations to Jon McAllister – CMS Ltd, and to Cobus Van Vuuren […]


2015 SCE / Rocktec Award

Cobus van Vuuren, Higgins Aggregates secured the Southern Cross Engineering / Rocktec Award for innovative work on the new fixed plant at Baldwins Quarry, Meremere. see details Congratulation also to the three others short-listed for the SCE/Rocktec Award: Johnny Dickson – Dickson Transport & Quarries Ltd Gordon Skeggs – Southern Aggregates George Jensen – McDonalds […]


2015 Winstone Safety Award

Websters Hydrated Lime, Hastings secure 2015 Winstone Safety Award Chris Gray presents Matt Webster with the Winstone Aggregates Safety Award. Tony Forster, Chief Inspector Mines and Quarries (WorkSafe NZ) announced the winner. This is the 26th year that the Winstone Aggregates Safety Award has been made. Safety is a family matter – Webster family pose […]

Previous AJ & RJ Loader Sponsors Display Recipients

Previous recipients of the AJ & RJ Loader Sponsor’s Display Award:- 1993 Cookes 1994 Flexco 1995 Winstone Aggregates 1996 Titan Plant Services 1997 Geoetchnics 1998 Tranzweld 1999 Atom Hire 2000 Mimico 2001 Redbull Powder Company 2002 Titan Plant Services 2003 Russett Engineering 2004 Metso 2005 Komatsu 2006 Groeneveld 2007 GoughCAT 2008 Rocktec 2009 Loadrite NZ […]


Datanow secure AJ & RJ Loader Sponsors Shield

IOQNZ President, Gordon Laing presents Datanow director with the AJ and RJ Loader Sponsors Shield. Datanow help businesses to collect and analyse data, the essential ingredient for improving performance. They created a cloud-based solution that pulls together data from sensors, databases, industrial controllers and manual entries. It can be viewed in real time or analysed […]