Archive | August, 2014

August 2014

August 2014 Newsletter

Latest newsletter available. Topics: Presidents Report ANZ Bank Account Closed Branch Reports MITO Update Young Quarryman Real Steel ESCO Dealer IOQ Discount Cards 2014 Conference Friends of the IOQ IOQ Awards AQA Awards Jim Macdonald Memorial LectureTour Inspector’s Thoughts Advertisement IOQ Database New Members August Newsletter


Previous Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy Winners

The Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy was first awarded in 1984 for “Best technical paper presented at a branch meeting or at the Institute’s Annual Conference”. Previous winners are: Keith Niederer George Cunningham Bruce Webster Jim Hunter David Niven Gib Stuart Tom Linnell ? Kevin Branch Bruce Hayhow Rob Storrie Chris Pilmer Steve Alford Peter Groube […]

Joanne Dickson, 2014 recipient of the Niemac Award

2014 – Niemac Award

When Graham Fergusson announced that Joanne Dickson Quarry Manager at Dickson’s Transport and Quarries was the 2014 winner of the Niemac Award, everyone in the audience were excited. And for good reason. Of course, the local Whangarei delegates were extremely proud. Dickson’s Glenbervie Quarry hosted the 2014 QuarryNZ field trip. Earlier at the Transdiesels Awards […]

Shawn McLean, Robert and Julie Webster, and Andrew Dronjak

2014 – Webster Scholarships

Shawn McLean is completing a National Diploma in Business Level 5 through iSkills. The qualification is achieved through a coached workplace programme and the timeframe to complete the qualification is 12 months. Andrew Dronjak is completing an ATM NEBOSH International Diploma through E Learning UK. This diploma is a Health & Safety qualification which Andrew […]

Porter Group CEO, Darren Ralph congratulates Stevenson Group's Steve Ellis.

2014 – Porter Group Quarry Leadership Award

The Porter Group Quarry Leadership Award is a new award this year. The award was presented at the luncheon hosted by the Porter Group at Whangarei’s Toll Stadium. CEO Darren Ralph noted that there were several great names put forward, and was delighted that Steve Ellis was the inaugural recipient. A thumb-nail on Steve: The […]

George Kelcher (left) receives the Lyn Jordan Memorial Award for his paper presented to the Otago/Southland Branch meeting

2014 – Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy

Removal of Coal particles from sand. How can that be achieved? George Kelcher’s paper describes a clever piece of processing plant designed in house by Road Metals to provide the very best raw-feed product for manufacture of vibrabloc. IOQNZ also submitted his paper for consideration by the IOQ International Presidents. While it did not win […]

Johnny Dickson flanked by Tony Forster and Andrea Pidcock.

2014 – Winstone Aggregates Safety Award

This year the Institute of Quarrying invited Tony Forster, Chief Inspector Mines and Extractives (Mines, Tunnels & Quarries), High Hazard Unit, WorkSafe New Zealand to inspect the sites of the nominations received for the Winstone Aggregates Safety Award. The inspections were carried out in conjunction with the Jim Macdonald Memorial Lecture Tour. This year’s winner […]