Archive | July, 2013

Wally Yelavich received his "Founding member" Award at the 2008 QuarryNZ Conference, Auckland

Founding Member Wally Yelavich passes

It is with great sadness that we record the passing of one of the Institute of Quarrying NZ Founding members, Walter Peter (Wally) Yelavich on 13 July 2013, aged 89 years. Wally recently featured in the “Profiles in Stone” book published by the IOQNZ in 2012, highlighting his long career in the quarrying and transport […]

IOQ Awards 2013

IOQ Awards 2013

Another successful QuarryNZ Conference has been held 10-12 July in Dunedin. Recipients of the The Institute of Quarrying Awards are:   Winstone Aggregates Safety Award   RD Hassed Memorial Trophy   Rocktec Innovation Award   Niemac Trophy   Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy   IOQNZ Shield   Caernarfon Award Recipients of the The Aggregate & Quarry […]

History 0f a Quarry in a City

2013 Caernarfon Award

This year (2013) was New Zealand’s turn to host the IOQ International Presidents at the QuarryNZ Combined IOQNZ / AQA Conference in Dunedin. During the course of the event they chose a winner from four nominations for the Caernarfon Award – the best paper given at an Institute conference, seminar, meeting etc anywhere in the […]

AQA Mimico Environmental Award  recipients:
(L-R) Dr Morgan Williams (judge), Tony Hunter (Logan Point Quarry) - Silver, Gordon Skeggs (Quarry) -Bronze, Rex Davies (Mimico), Jason Hinton (Rodney Aggregates Matakana Quarry), Tony Carpenter (Winstone Aggregates Three Kings Quarry)

2013 MIMICO Environmental Award

The MIMICO Awards recognise the contributions made by member companies and staff in caring for the environment. The scope includes any action, process, activity or project that has a positive effect on the environment. It may be a one off or ongoing, a formal project or someone’s idea that has been put into practice. It […]

Winners of the 2013 Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy
Daniel leemeyer, Jason Tavioni, & Nick Bastow

2013 Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy

RedBull Powder Company young engineers – Daniel Leemeyer, Nick Bastow, and Jason Tavioni presented a paper at the Auckland Branch Technical meeting May 7th 2013. Their paper entitled Construction Blasting – The Waterview Connection Project demonstrated the magnitude of one of New Zealand’s largest roading construction projects – the Waterview tunnel project, and the many […]

Gavin Hartley, Russell Vickers, Mike McKessar (Transdiesel MD) holding polished mounted rock, and Peter Coleman

Thanks to Transdiesels

Many in the IOQNZ know that ex President, Russell Vickers, is passionate about quarrying. What they may not know that he also sources rock from many places around the world to adorn his house and surrounding yard. Russell secured (with assistance from Peter Coleman) a fabulous piece of granite from Eskilstuna, Sweden. He polished it […]

ANDREW DRONJAK is all smiles as he holds the RD Hassed Memorial Trophy

2013 RD Hassed Memorial Trophy

Andrew Dronjak has held several key roles on the Auckland Branch – Secretary, Treasurer, and Chairman. He has been there to assist with organising the Annual Health & Safety Review meeting for most years, and is often there to greet members as they arrive at the branch meetings. Andrew also served as the first student […]