Archive | August, 2005

Notice of Intention to Apply for Approval of Code of Practice

Pursuant to section 79 of the Hazardous Substances and New Organisms Act 1996, the Environmental Risk Management Authority (ERMA) gives notice that the NZ Extractive Industries Training Organisation (EXITO) intends to apply for the approval of the Code of Practice for the Approved Handler?s Certificates. This code specifies a means of compliance with the requirements […]

Comments Off on Notice of Intention to Apply for Approval of Code of Practice Continue Reading →
2005 Gough CAT Travel Award

2005 Gough CAT Travel Award

[+] enlarge Jim Greenlaw, Quarry Manager, Levels Quarry, Timaru Jim was first appointed Quarry Manager October 1990. His role involves all the day to day operations running this very efficient plant. With 3 full time and one part time staff member the quarry operates 12hrs / day, 5 days per week. Saturday mornings are set […]

Bill Taylor

Bill Taylor receives Diplomas, 2005

Mike Cosman, the National Operations Manager was pleased to present Bill Taylor with National Diplomas in both Surface and Underground Extraction. Bill has recently rejoined the Department of Labour as Senior Adviser for High Hazards – Mining, operating out of Greymouth. Report from George Munro 6/6/05

2005 Niemac Award - Lex Robb

2005 Niemac Award – Lex Robb

Alexander (Lex) Robb was this year’s recipeient of the Niemac Award Balfour Lime Quarry was opened in 1936 and privately owned until 2000 when Ravensdown took over. Balfour produces approximately 35,000 tonnes of Agricultural Lime per year. Lex’s association with Balfour Lime began 26 years ago when as an A Grade Mechanic he was required […]

2005 Honorary Fellow

2005 Honorary Fellow

Andrew Robertson (left) and Andy Loader were each awarded an Honorary Fellowship for their long standing service to the NZ branch of the Institute. Both served the industry firstly in quarrying roles, and later as Quarry Inspectors. Both Andrews have served on the IOQ Executive, with Andy Loader holding the NZ Chairman’s office during 1991-1993. […]

2005 Award Winners - Waitangi Conference

2005 Award Winners – Waitangi Conference

From left to right: George KelcherRoad Metals, Oamaru (RD Hassed Memorial Trophy and Komatsu Award) Ross PicardSmyths QuarryKaipara Ltd (Bruce Webster Scholarship) Andy LoaderFirst Rock Consultancy Auckland (Honorary Fellow) Mike McSaveneyManagerCentral North Island Quarries (Winstone Aggregates Safety Award – received on behalf of Otaika Quarry) Andrew RoberstonAmalmo Products Napier (Honorary Fellow) Andrew DronjakGeneral ManagerMcRobbie Dowling […]